Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Overview of the Counselor Clinical Training Sequence

Overview of the Counselor Clinical Training Sequence: All students in the CMHC Master’s Degree Program are required to complete the four-course Counselor Clinical Training Sequence. The courses comprising this sequence include the following:

  • COUN 5423: Counseling Pre-Practicum
  • COUN 5543: Counseling Practicum
  • COUN 5923: Counseling Internship I
  • COUN 5933: Counseling Internship II

These courses, offered only during fall and spring semesters, must be taken in sequence; and, students must earn a letter grade of a “B” or higher in each to progress to the next level. Also, students must earn a grade of a “B” or higher in the final course in order to receive approval for graduation clearance.

This sequence has been carefully orchestrated to move the student from closely supervised practice sessions to increasingly independent fieldwork with actual clients. In addition to the grade requirement mentioned above, a variety of pre-requisites are required for these courses. It is very important for the student to work closely with his or her advisor to ensure proper progress through this pivotal counselor training experience.