Native American Symposium

2003-FIfth Symposium


On behalf of Southeastern Oklahoma State University, welcome to our fifth Native American Symposium,
Being Native Native Being: Identity and Difference. Oklahoma’s
diverse Native American heritage offers a unique perspective on the studies of
literature, film, history, sociology, anthropology, political science,
psychology, and communications.

The Native American symposium seeks to increase public understanding and
appreciation of Native American culture in all its expressions. Varied special
events offer many opportunities for communication, education, and pleasure.

The conference planning committee has provided us with a unique experience
to raise our level of consciousness regarding Native American culture. Their
dedication to bringing this special event to our campus is indeed commendable.

I hope you enjoy Being Native Native Being: Identity and Difference.


Glen D. Johnson


N. Scott Momaday (left) receiving the National Medal of Arts from George W. Bush in 2007. Source: Momaday

This year’s keynote address will be delivered by N. Scott Momaday. Born a Kiowa in the Oklahoma Dust bowl, and raised on reservations in the Southwest, Momaday has been described by the New York Times as “the dean of American Indian writers.” His first novel House Made of Dawn was awarded the Pulitzer Prize, and he has won countless other awards for his work as a poet, playwright, artist, essayist, and novelist. Currently the Regents Professor of Humanities at the University of Arizona, Momaday is also the founder and Chair of The Buffalo Trust, a non-profit foundation for the preservation and restoration of Native American culture and heritage.

Momaday’s other published works of fiction include In the Bear’s House (which incorporates his own paintings), The Way to Rainy Mountain and The Ancient Child. His poetry has been collected in The Gourd Dancer and In the Presence of the Sun. He is the author of The Man Made of Words: Essays, Stories, Passages, his memoir, The Names, the children’s book, Circle of Wonder: A Native American Christmas Story, and two plays, Children of the Sun and The Indolent Boys.


Southeastern Oklahoma State University would like to thank the following contributors for their generous sponsorship of the Fifth Native American Symposium


  • Chickasaw Nation
  • Oklahoma Theta Chapter, Alpha Chi Honors Society


  • Dr. Chad Litton
  • Alpha Chi National
  • Ken L. Delashaw, Jr., Attorney at Law
  • Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma


  • Red River Rural Electric Association
  • Billy Mickle, Attorney at Law
  • Pat Phelps, Attorney at Law
  • Curtis Jewelry
  • Nichols Dollar Saver
  • McGeehee and Associates
  • Texoma Truss Systems
  • Dr. Mark Spencer
  • Dr. Lucretia Scoufus
  • Dr. Dan Althoff


  • Dr. Glen Johnson


  • Burrage Law Office
  • Jeff’s Madill Flower Shop
  • Bake-Line Group
  • Dr. Bela Arabolu
  • Dr. Lisa Coleman


  • Native American Council


  • Oklahoma Arts Council
  • National Endowment for the Arts
  • Southeastern Oklahoma State University Cultural and Scholastic Lectureship Committee

We would also like to thank:

  • The Students of Southeastern Oklahoma State University
  • SOSU School of Arts and Sciences, Dean, Dr. C.W. Mangrum
  • SOSU School of Education and Behavioral Sciences, Dean, Dr. Joseph Licata

Vehicles for the Native American Symposium were provided by Texoma Ford of Durant.

Accommodations for the Native American Symposium provided by Choctaw Inn.

Please contact the Native American Symposium at 580-745-2840 or Southeastern Oklahoma State University at 580-745-2394 to request assistance due to a disability. Accommodations cannot be guaranteed without adequate advance notice.

  • Dr. Chad Litton, Chair, Behavioral Sciences
  • Dr. Daniel Althoff, English, Humanities, and Language
  • Ms. Betty Andrews, Academic Advising Center
  • Dr. Gleny Beach, Art
  • Ms. Corie Delashaw, History
  • Ms. Glynda Herndon, Art
  • Mr. Dennis Miles, Library
  • Ms. Sharon Morrison, Library
  • Mr. Jack Ousey, Art
  • Ms. Camille Phelps, Multicultural Coordinator
  • Dr. Lucretia Scoufus, Communication
  • Dr. Mark Spencer, English, Humanities, and Language
  • Dr. Claire Stubblefield, Director, Office of Diversity
  • Ms. Susan Webb, Library
  • Ms. Shari Williams, Academic Advising Center