Southeastern News

Alpha Chi honor society inducts 42 students

Alpha Chi inducted 42 students into its organization Sunday at Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

Alpha Chi inducted 42 students into its organization Sunday at Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

DURANT, Okla. – Southeastern Oklahoma State University’s Oklahoma Theta chapter of Alpha Chi national honor society has inducted 42 students into lifetime membership. An induction ceremony was held Sunday in the Fine Arts Recital Hall. Participating in the event were chapter sponsors Dr. Brett Elliott, Dr. Alistair Maeer, Dr. Jennifer Hicks, Dr. L. David Norris (former sponsor), and Maverick McClendon (President Elect of Oklahoma Theta Chapter of AX).

           Southeastern president Sean Burrage delivered congratulatory remarks.

Alpha Chi, a national college scholarship honor society, was founded in 1922 and has more than 400,000 members from more than 300 college and university chapters in 45 states and Puerto Rico.

The society provides tens of thousands of dollars annually in scholarships and fellowships for members and alumni.

Members of Alpha Chi, identified and elected by the faculties of their schools as ranking in the top 10 percent of juniors and seniors, represent the best undergraduate scholarship in all academic fields at their institutions.

The inductees, from Oklahoma, unless otherwise noted, are listed below:

Brianna Akins, Bokchito; Madison Barr, Owasso; Kaylie Baxter, Durant; Alesha Birks, Marietta; Samantha Blackwell, Durant; Jose Bocanegra Yanez, Milburn; McKenzi Boehme, Caney; Cassaundra Braaten, Bullard, Texas; Raini Butler, Snow; Ashley Carranza, Ardmore.

Stephen Comes, Ravia; Kendyl Compton, Durant; Conner Counce, Denison, Texas; Cacy Cribbs, Wapanucka; Weston DePriest, Chickasha; Mitchell Emberson, Taft, California; Immanuel-Carl Gerlitz, Durant; Bryan Gibson, Azle, Texas; Jayanna Greenwood, Lone Grove; Madison Hammock, Durant.

Robin Harrison, Ardmore; John Hernandez, Moore; Nikki Howard, Ardmore; Katelynn Humphries, Mead; Joseph Jankas, Oklahoma City; Allison Joines, Caddo; Caroline Joines, Caddo; Peyton Joines, Caddo; Megan Knight, Caddo; Parker Liddell, Thackerville.

Shauna McCarter, Durant; Cherie McClellan, Rattan; Terrell Morgan, Moyers; Adeline Patterson, Durant; Heather Payne, Broken Bow; Trevor Robinson, Cartwright; Calli Rogers, Kingston; Stephenie Shields, Durant; Melissa Springer, Caddo; Brianna Teel, Durant; Christian Tollett, Calvin; Melissa Wilson-Blake, Smithville.