Southeastern News

Dr. Bryon Clark named Vice President for Academic Affairs

Bryon Clark

Dr. Bryon Clark

DURANT, Okla. – Southeastern Oklahoma State University president Sean Burrage has announced an administrative reorganization, effective, in most cases, July 1, 2016.

“We had a large number (27) of individuals who took advantage of a retirement incentive program that we offered this year,’’ Burrage said.  “The retirements included a number of experienced faculty and staff members, as well as several key administrators. It is very difficult to replace that level of experience, especially with the budget constraints that we are facing. In an effort to be cost-effective, we have, in many cases, combined positions and duties. With that being said, we believe we can be efficient, while maintaining a high level of service.’’

In all, 33 employees retired this year.

Some of the key changes are listed below, with new titles listed first:

Dr. Bryon Clark, Vice President for Academic Affairs. He previously served as Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Graduate Dean. Clark, a professor of Biological Sciences, has been associated with Southeastern since 1990. He holds a Ph.D. from Kansas State University, a master’s from Western Illinois University, and a bachelor’s from Central College (Iowa).

Tim Boatmun

Dr. Tim Boatmun

Dr. Tim Boatmun, Dean of Graduate School, E-Programming and Academic Support. He was formerly Associate Dean of Academic Services (Academic Advising and Outreach Center). Boatmun earned his Ed.D. at Northcentral University, his master’s at New York University, and his bachelor’s at Southeastern. He joined the Southeastern staff in 2000.

Kendra Gross

Kendra Gross

Kendra Gross, director of the McCurtain County campus. She previously served as Coordinator  of Academics/Admissions/Advisement/Financial Aid and Instructional Support at McCurtain County.

— Dr. Bruce King, Executive Director of the Center for Student Success and Native American Institute. He was Dean of the McCurtain County branch campus and has been serving as interim executive director of the Native American Institute since March 1, 2016.


— Dr. Robin Plumb, Dean and Director of Educational Outreach. She was formerly Associate Dean and Director of Outreach.

Liz McCraw, Dean of Student Affairs. She was previously Dean of Student Life.

—  Mike Davis, Director of Compliance and Safety. He was previously Coordinator of Disability Services.

—  Sandra Thomas, Interim Library Director. She had served as Serials, Electronic Resources & Interlibrary Loan Librarian.

—  Dan Simmons, Director of the Physical Plant. He had served as Assistant Director.

Other appointments include:

— Dr. Brett Elliott, Director of General Education

— Dr. Meg Cotter-Lynch, Director of the Honors Program

— Clifford Cox, Director of the Academic Advising and Outreach Center

Elizabeth Watkins, Director of the Learning Center

Dr. Shannon McCraw, Chair, Department of Art, Communication and Theatre

—  Dr. Kay Daigle, Chair, Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation