Southeastern News

Southeastern president appointed to Board of Juvenile Affairs

President Burrage

President Burrage

DURANT, Okla. – Southeastern Oklahoma State University president Sean Burrage is one of three new appointees to the Oklahoma Board of Juvenile Affairs. The seven-member board is appointed by Gov. Mary Fallin and confirmed by the Senate.

The Board of Juvenile Affairs is the governing body of the Oklahoma Office of Juvenile Affairs (OJA). The OJA is is responsible for planning and coordinating statewide juvenile justice and delinquency prevention services.

Burrage will serve as a member representing the 2nd Congressional District. His four-year term begins July 2.

The Southeastern president was also named to the Task Force on the Future of Higher Education that was recently formed by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

The 68-member task force, which was established at the State Regents’ March meeting, will conduct a systematic review of higher education in Oklahoma; examine existing initiatives and best practices; and report findings and recommendations on strategies that best support improving quality, access, affordability, and efficiency.

The Task Force includes regents, college and university presidents, citizens, and governmental designees.

Burrage is also a member of the Oklahoma Ordinance Works Authority.