Southeastern News

Grayson College president Jeremy McMillen recipient of 11th E.T. Dunlap Medal

President Jeremy McMillen

President Jeremy McMillen

DURANT, Okla. – Grayson College president Jeremy P. McMillen is the 2018 recipient of the E.T. Dunlap Medal, an award that is presented to a distinguished scholar or outstanding public official.

Dr. McMillen will present the 11th E.T. Dunlap Lecture on Higher Education and Public Policy on April 17 at 11 a.m. in the Hallie McKinney Ballroom on the campus of Southeastern Oklahoma State University. The lecture is free and open to the public.

The Dunlap Medal and Lectureship Program was established in 1989 by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education as a legacy to Dr. E.T. Dunlap, long-time chancellor (1961-82) of education in Oklahoma. At the time the lecture was established, Southeastern was designated as the host institution by the Regents.

Among the previous recipients of the prestigious Dunlap Medal are David Boren, Carl Albert, and current Chancellor Glen D. Johnson, a former president of Southeastern. Chancellor Johnson is expected to attend this year’s lecture.

“President McMillen is very deserving of the E.T. Dunlap award,’’ said Southeastern president Sean Burrage.  “He is a dynamic leader who is making a huge impact throughout the entire Texomaland region. Most importantly, he is a tireless advocate for students as he continues to successfully implement innovative ideas in the rapidly changing world of higher education. Since Grayson was founded in 1965, it has been a great partner to Southeastern — and from day one in 2012 when he was named president, Dr. McMillen has embraced this history. Working together, two institutions can accomplish a great deal by practicing the philosophy of doing what’s best for students, and that’s what we do as partners.’’

Despite being located in different states – Grayson’s campuses are in Denison and Van Alstyne, Texas,  and Southeastern has six sites in Oklahoma — the two neighbors have teamed up to serve students in unique ways.
Guided by then-Presidents Johnson and Dr. Alan Scheibmeir — Southeastern and Grayson received formal approval from various state and national governing boards to offer the Elementary Education degree at Grayson College beginning in the fall of 2005.

Since that time, Southeastern has continued to expand programs and courses (business, criminal justice, occupational safety & health, psychology, etc., and selected graduate programs) at Grayson. Course delivery methods include traditional face-to-face, online, and instructional television.

The two schools are continuing to explore the potential for an expanded partnership in the future.

Dr. Jeremy McMillen joined Grayson College as its fifth president in July 2012.

He began his career in higher education teaching sociology as a graduate student at Texas A&M-Commerce in 1995. He then served as the Director of Educational Talent Search working with low income first generation students at Paris Junior College. McMillen returned to A&M-Commerce as director of institutional research and then went to Trinity Valley Community College as dean of planning and institutional research. At TVCC, McMillen was promoted to assistant vice president for academic affairs and finally associate vice president for academic affairs.

Active in state and national higher education initiatives, McMillen serves as the immediate past chair of the board of directors for United Way of Grayson County and is a board member of Texoma Workforce Solutions and the Texoma Craft Beverage Alliance. He is immediate past chair of the North Texas Community College Consortium.

State involvement includes serving on the Executive Committee for the Texas Association of Community Colleges and two committees with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Community and Technical College Leadership Council and Community and Technical College Formula Advisory Committee.           Nationally, McMillen serves on the Commission on Workforce and Economic Development for the American Association of Community Colleges.

He received a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree, both in sociology, from what is now Texas A&M University-Commerce. He returned to the institution to earn his doctorate in higher education.

McMillen and his wife, also an A&M-Commerce graduate, reside in Denison, Texas, with their son.

Dr. E.T. Dunlap (1914-1997) was a 1940 graduate of Southeastern and the first Distinguished Alumnus of the University. After graduating from Southeastern, Dunlap served as a teacher, county superintendent of schools and high school inspector for accreditation for the Oklahoma State Department of Education. He was then elected to the Oklahoma House of Representatives in 1946, chaired the Committee on Education, and was the principal author of the Education Code, which was signed into law in 1949.

From 1951-1961, he was president of Eastern Oklahoma State College, Wilburton. He left this post to become Oklahoma’s second chancellor of higher education.

Southeastern professors to provide information to transfer students at Grayson

DURANT, Okla. – Transfer students from Grayson College are invited to “Pizza with the Professors’’ on March 22 at in the GC Life Center (second floor) in Denison, Texas. The event is from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

A group of Southeastern Oklahoma State University professors, admissions and recruitment representatives and students will be in attendance to provide information to transfer students interested in attending Southeastern.

Pizza and door prizes will be offered.

The event is funded by the Southeastern Presidential Partners through the student recruitment initiatives by faculty grant.

For more information, contact Matt Morris at 903-463-8701 or


Fernando Braxton Music Scholarship endowed at Southeastern

A scholarship has been endowed in memory of musician Fernando Braxton.

DURANT, Okla. – The Fernando Braxton Music Scholarship has been endowed through the Southeastern Oklahoma State University Foundation to benefit students attending Southeastern.

The scholarship was established by friends and family of “Nando,” a full-time musician who lived in New Orleans.

After graduating from Denison (Texas) High School, he attended Grayson College before continuing his study in the Department of Music at Southeastern in

the late 1990s.

Many of Braxton’s friends and fellow musicians staged benefit concerts to establish and endow the scholarship.

The scholarship is established for students who have declared music education or music performance as their major field of study.

Students must be juniors or seniors and have a minimum 2.75 grade-point average to qualify.

The scholarship is to be awarded on the basis of merit with special focus on individuals of high character who will positively represent the name of Fernando Braxton.

Southeastern’s School of Arts and Sciences Scholarship Committee shall determine the recipient according to donor-approved guidelines.

Southeastern welcomes new Grayson president

Dr. Jeremy McMillen, right, the new president of Grayson College, receives a welcome Monday from Dr. Larry Minks, president of Southeastern Oklahoma State University. Officials from the two schools met in Durant to discuss the ongoing partnerships that are in place between Grayson and Southeastern.