Southeastern News

Winners announced in Curriculum Contest


Students competed in a number of events Thursday at the 101st Curriculum Contest at Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

DURANT, Okla. – Southeastern Oklahoma State University hosted the 101st edition of the Oklahoma Inter-High School Curriculum Contest on Thursday.

Dr. James Britton, Professor in the Chemistry, Computer and Physical Sciences Department, served as director of the event.

The contest involved more than 1,600 students from 68 area high schools, who participated in 41 contests with trophies and medals presented to winning schools and individuals.

Exams covered numerous subjects, including art, accounting, speech, journalism, literature, drama, modern languages, mathematics, science, English, social science, music, and computers.

The winning schools, by division, are listed below:

Division 1

1.    Kiowa Public Schools

2.    Coleman High School

3.    Smithville High School

Division 2

1.    Latta High School

2.    Rock Creek High School

3.    Silo Public Schools

Division 3

1.    Plainview High School

2.    Dickson High School

3.    Lone Grove High School

Division 4

1.    Durant High School

2.    McAlester High School

3.    Ardmore High School