Southeastern News

Southeastern chapter of AAUP to hold event

On Saturday, March 25th, from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM, the Southeastern Oklahoma State University chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) will be hosting a statewide event on our campus for the fourth consecutive year.  This event is open to all SE faculty, full and part-time.  Thanks to generous grants from the AAUP Assembly of State Conferences, and Southeastern Oklahoma State University, registration is free, and includes all sessions, continental breakfast, and lunch.  This AAUP event is an excellent opportunity for faculty camaraderie and professional development right here on our campus (in the Fine Arts Recital Hall) at a reasonable price (free!). Registration for the 25th is easy – just email AAUP Chapter President Carolyn Fridley and let her know you plan to attend.  The deadline for registration is Monday, March 13.

This year’s theme is: “The University:  Money, Power and the Common Good.” Guest speakers include Adam David Roth, Ph.D., of the Harrington School of Communication and Media at the University of Rhode Island, and from Southern University-Shreveport, Louisiana, Sonya Hester, Joslin Pickens, and Harolyn Wilson (their article “Organizing Real Faculty Governance in Northern Louisiana” is in the current issue of Academe). We are fortunate to have speakers at our event who bring a wealth of experience in higher education.

The event also includes two panel discussions.  SE President Sean Burrage, Academic Council Chair Randy Prus, Faculty Senate Chair-elect Dan Althoff, and Carolyn Fridley will discuss and field questions on the event theme.  A second panel: “What Does the AAUP Do?” will include AAUP members Jesse Snowden, Meg Cotter-Lynch, Doug Wood, William Fridley, and the Oklahoma Conference AAUP President John Wood from the University of Central Oklahoma.

On Friday, March 24, from 2:00 to 4:00 in the Fine Arts Theatre there will be what promises to be a lively discussion featuring guest speakers Adam Roth and Sonya Hester, and SE Vice President for Academic Affairs Bryon Clark, Vice President for University Advancement Kyle Stafford, and Director for Safety and Compliance Mike Davis.  All SE faculty, students, and members of the community are welcome.  No registration is required.

Our chapter is very excited about this event and we believe that it will lead to meaningful conversations about how faculty and university communities can work together to advance the AAUP’s mission of “shared governance, promoting the economic security of those who teach and research in higher education, and ensuring higher education’s contribution to the common good.” We hope you will add your voice to the conversation.