Southeastern News

President Burrage, Chief Batton, John Carey named to Higher Education Task Force

President Burrage

Sean Burrage

DURANT, Okla. – Durant will be well represented on the Task Force on the Future of Higher Education that was recently formed by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education (OSRHE).

The 68-member task force, which was established at the State Regents’ March meeting, will conduct a systematic review of higher education in Oklahoma; examine existing initiatives and best practices; and report findings and recommendations on strategies that best support improving quality, access, affordability, and efficiency.

John Carey

John Carey

Representing the Durant area on the Task Force are Southeastern Oklahoma State University president Sean 
Burrage, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Chief Gary Batton, and former State Rep. John Carey. OSRHE chairman John Massey of Durant is an ex-officio member.

John Massey

John Massey

“I am honored to serve on this task force with Chief Batton, Rep. Carey and Regent Massey,’’ Burrage said. “I can’t think of three individuals who are more dedicated to serving Oklahomans as we all work together to face the challenges in higher education.’’

The Task Force includes regents, college and university presidents, citizens, and governmental designees.


Gary Batton

“Given the ongoing financial pressures on the state coupled with the imperative to raise attainment and graduation rates, the task force will examine ways to improve performance and optimize resources,” said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. “The central mission of the task force is to clearly position Oklahoma public higher education to meet the future challenges of maintaining accessibility and affordability without compromising quality. As such, the task force will focus on modernization, efficiencies and innovation. I appreciate the willingness of these individuals to dedicate their time, knowledge, and expertise to serve as task force members.”

Southeastern goes tobacco-free August 1

DURANT, Okla. – Beginning August 1, 2012, Southeastern Oklahoma State University will be tobacco-free.

This is in accordance with an executive order signed by Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin on February 6, 2012. In part, the order states, “The use of any tobacco product shall be prohibited on any and all properties owned, leased or contracted for use by the State of Oklahoma, including but not limited to all buildings, land and vehicles owned, leased or contracted for use by agencies or instrumentalities of the State of Oklahoma.”

Southeastern has taken an informative, pro-active approach to implementation of the new law. University president Larry Minks formed the Southeastern Tobacco-free Task Force in the spring to assist with this transition. The task force has been working to create programming and materials to assist with this transition and to make the community aware of the new change in policy.

For more information, visit