Skip to content

2001 Native American Symposium

Fourth Native American Symposium: “Smoke Screens/Smoke Signals: Looking Through Two Worlds”

November 8, 9 & 10, 2001

Keynote Address

Joy Harjo

This year’s keynote address will be delivered by Joy Harjo. She is a graduate of the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe. She received a BA from the University of New Mexico and an MFA from the University of Iowa’s Creative Writing Workshop. She has also completed the filmmaking program at the Anthropology Film Center in Santa Fe and a songwriting workshop at Berkelee School of Music in Boston. She has published six books of poetry. Another recent publication is a children’s book, The Good Luck Cat, from Harcourt. She has also co-edited an anthology of native women’s writing: Reinventing the Enemy’s Language: Contemporary Native Women’s Writing of North America and a book of poetic prose with photographs by Steven Strom, Secrets from the Center of the World. Harjo was the narrator for the Native Americans series on Turner Network and more recently the narrator for the Emmy award-winning show, Navajo Codetalkers for National Geographic.


Southeastern Oklahoma State University would like to thank the following contributors for their generous sponsorship of the Fourth Native American Symposium.

Dr. Daniel Althoff
Ms. Jane McMillan
Dr. Mark Spencer
Kenneth L. Delashaw, Jr., Attorney at Law

Stephen A. Ortlip, M.D.
Red River Valley Rural Electrical Association
Gene and Anne Washburn

Country & Town Real Estate, Inc.

We would also like to thank:

  • Oklahoma Humanities Council
  • National Endowment for the Humanities
  • Red River Arts Council
  • SOSU Cultural and Scholastic Lectureship Committee
  • SOSU School of Arts and Sciences
  • Dean, Dr. C. W. Mangrum
  • School of Education and Behavioral Sciences
  • Dean, Dr. Joseph Licata

Members of the Conference Planning Committee

Dr. Elizabeth Kennedy, Co-Chair, Psychology
Mr. Chad Litton, Co-Chair, Sociology
Dr. Daniel Althoff, English, Humanities and Language
Ms. Debbie Barnes, President’s Liaison
Ms. Mary Carden, English, Humanities, and Languages
Ms. Grace Cincotta, Graduate Student/Webmaster
Ms. Corie Delashaw, History
Ms. Jane McMillan, Director, Counseling Center
Ms. Camille Phelps, Multicultural Director
Mr. Greg Reiman, Art
Dr. Mark Spencer, English, Humanities, Languages
Dr. Claire Stubblefield, Director, Office of Diversity
Ms. Susan Webb, Library Liaison
Dr. Chunmei You, Political Science


Fourth Native American Symposium Proceedings