Skip to content

Texoma Piano Competition

General Info Open Close

Southeastern Oklahoma State University Department of Music is hosting the Texoma Piano Competition on April 29th, 2023. The piano competition is open to all pianists, ages 6-27, who reside or study in Oklahoma and Texas. All performances will take place in the Fine Arts Recital Hall, where competitors will enjoy playing on a Steinway & Sons Model D Concert Grand Piano.

The objective of the competition is to provide performance opportunities for young pianists in the area, and to promote classical music and arts in the community.

The piano competition is structured in 4 categories of age, each consisting of only one round.

A panel of three members will judge the competition and all the participants will receive a critique sheet with comments from the judges.

Application Procedure Open Close

Application deadline is April 15, 2023, 11:59pm (CST)

Visit for more information.


Step 1: Please fill in the application form online by clicking here.

Step 2: Pay the registration $30 fee online here.

By mail:

For a successful and complete registration, please fill out the TPC Application Form and send it by regular mail accompanied by a $30 registration fee (check or cash) to:

Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Dr. Catalin Dima
425 W. University Boulevard
Durant, Oklahoma 74701

Please address the check(s) to Southeastern Oklahoma State University with TPC in the memo line. Once the application form and the registration fee are received, applicants will receive a confirmation by email.


The schedule for each category will be posted on the university’s website ( prior to the competition day.

All the registration fees and donations received will contribute towards the final awards and judges’ fees.

Rules Open Close

All the pianists will have to perform at least one piece by memory and should not exceed the allotted maximum time for each category. One movement of a sonata or a selection of short pieces part of a larger work are acceptable.

  1. Category A (ages 10 and under): 5 minutes
  2. Category B (ages 11 to 14): 7 minutes
  3. Category C (ages 15 to 18): 12 minutes
  4. Category D (ages 19 to 22): 15 minutes
  5. Category E (ages 23 to 27): 15 minutes


Special Notes:

  • Due to copyright laws, all entrants must provide original music sheet(s) and two photocopies for the adjudicator(s). Entrants without an original score will be permitted to perform for critique only, provided all other competition requirements have been met. A monitor may examine all music prior to the performance of each entrant.
  • Age requirements apply at the time of the competition.
  • Previous 1st Prize winners of the Texoma Piano Competition are not eligible to compete again in the same category. They can compete in a higher category if they meet the age requirements.
Awards Open Close
  • The 1st prize winner of each category will be awarded a trophy and perform in the Award Ceremony.
  • All the participants will receive diplomas and critique sheets with comments from the judges.
  • All the prize winners of categories B, C, D, and E will be offered a free masterclass with a piano faculty from Southeastern Oklahoma State University, scheduled on a later date.

Note: Award Ceremony will take place after the competition ends, on April 29th, 2023.

If you have any questions, please email Dr. Catalin Dima at

Winners 2021 Open Close

Category A:
Kaitlyn Han – 1st Prize
Monica Bohannan – 1st Prize
Katelyn Du – 2nd Prize
Sasmi Gamage – 2nd Prize
Reese Carper – 3rd Prize

Category B:
Fiona Wang – 1st Prize
Annika Ferguson – 1st Prize
Alexander Chen – 2nd Prize
Joachim Mampilli – 2nd Prize
Sophie Raines – 3rd Prize

Category C:
Angelina Leng – 1st Prize
Jackson Rue – 1st Prize
John A. Schnell – 2nd Prize
Angela Cates – 3rd Prize

Category D:
Anna Coleman – 1st Prize
Rebekah Veien – 1st Prize
Austin Kemp – 2nd Prize

Winners 2022 Open Close

Category A:

Katelyn Du – 1st Prize

Roy Liu – 2nd Prize

Sophia Good – 3rd Prize

Graeme Dunn – Honorable Mention


Category B:

Kyoji Kikuchi – 1st Prize

Praneel Mahalatkar – 2nd Prize

Emily Stutzman – 2nd Prize

Alexander Chen – 3rd Prize

Leo Liang – 3rd Prize

Monica Bohanon – Honorable Mention

Blake Preston – Honorable Mention

Anna Nayah Guillory – Honorable Mention

Sophie Raines – Honorable Mention

Andy Figueroa – Honorable Mention

Venuki Gamage – Honorable Mention


Category C:

Chanel Sun – 1st Prize

Winston Morris – 2nd Prize

Annika Ferguson – 3rd Prize

Skyler Moore – 3rd Prize

Elizabeth Guillory – Honorable Mention


Category D:

Sangsoo Kim – 1st Prize

Yongseok Kwon – 2nd Prize

Jihye Lee – 3rd Prize

Clark Cavender – Honorable Mention

Austin Kemp – Honorable Mention

Winners 2023 Open Close

Category A (ages 10 and under):

Evelyn Harada – 1st Prize

Amber Li – 2nd Prize

Sarah Shi – 2nd Prize

Wesley He – 3rd Prize

Harvey Wu – 3rd Prize

Shirley Park – Honorable Mention

Category B (ages 11-14):

Sohan Shah – 1st Prize

Nianchao Li – 2nd Prize

Victoria Wei – 2nd Prize

Marco Longarini – 3rd Prize

Katelyn WaiYan Du – 3rd Prize

Chlyde Kaiming Lie – Honorable Mention

Category C (ages 15-18):

Matteo Longarini – 1st Prize

Diana Suceveanu – 2nd Prize

Fiona Wang – 2nd Prize

Alexander Chen – 3rd Prize

Davin Lin – 3rd Prize

Ethan Lau – Honorable Mention

Category D (ages 19-22):

William Sutcliffe – 1st Prize


Texoma Piano Competition Schedule 2023 Open Close

APRIL 29th, 2023

Thank you for registering for the Texoma Piano Competition 2023 at Southeastern Oklahoma State University. We look forward to seeing you on Saturday, April 29th. The competition will begin at 10:00am and finish around 4:00pm. Please see the detailed schedule bellow.

The competition will take place in the Fine Arts Building, which will be open starting from 8:30am. Please feel free to come and warm up early. We have seven practice rooms for the students to warm up. The competition is open to the public and everyone is welcome to attend and listen.

The address of the Fine Arts Building is 437 Montgomery Dr, Durant, OK 74701. You can find free parking available right behind the Fine Arts Building (Google Map location here).

At the end of the competition, we will have the Awards Ceremony, from 3:00pm-4:00pm. Please plan to attend. We will listen to the 1st Prize winners performing one more time and hand out the trophies, diplomas, and comment sheets after the performance.

We wish you all the best and good luck!


If you have any questions, please email Dr. Catalin Dima at