fbpx Skip to content

Institutional Review Board

Function:  The Institutional Review Board will formulate recommendations and policies for review of research and protocols for research conducted with human subjects at Southeastern Oklahoma State University. Any proposals for research using human subjects by Southeastern‘s faculty, undergraduate or graduate students, will be required to be submitted for review and approval by the Institutional Review Board. Provided, however, research which is part of a course requirement would be the responsibility of the professor teaching the course and would be expected to comply with established ethical and legal standards. Applicable research initiated by someone outside the SOSU community in which a SOSU faculty member is participating will also be subject to review and approval by the Institutional Review Board. In such a case, all that the Institutional Review Board would require is a letter of approval from the initiating individual‘s institution stating that the subject research proposal has been approved by the Human Subjects Research Review Committee/Institutional Research Board at that institution. Formerly known as the Human Subjects Research Review Committee (APPM 3.5).

Membership:  The Institutional Review Board will be composed of eight faculty members, one member of the community, the Vice President for Academic Affairs, and one upper-division student. The appointments will be for three years. The Faculty Senate will appoint two faculty member from the School of Business, two faculty members from the School of Education and Behavioral Sciences, and four faculty members from the School of Arts and Sciences, such that there is not more than one member from a given academic department (if not possible – not more than one member from an academic major program). To allow for continuity of committee functioning, the chair must have at least one year‘s experience on the Institutional Review Board. The community member will be solicited by the Institutional Review Board for membership in the committee. The community members will serve for one year. Service may be renewed for another year by mutual agreement of the committee and the community member. The Vice President for Academic Affairs will be an ex officio member of the committee. The upper-division student member will be appointed annually by the Student Senate and approved by the President (APPM 3.5).

IRB Bylaws

IRB Applicant Instructions

IRB Application Form