fbpx Skip to content

Broken Bow sophomore named Newman Civic Fellow

March 5, 2020

DURANT, Okla. – Yoselin Rodriguez-Diaz, who is a sophomore biology major at Southeastern Oklahoma State University, has been selected as a recipient of the Newman Civic Fellowship.

The Fellowship is a yearlong program for students from Campus Compact member institutions. Campus Compact is a Boston-based non-profit organization working to advance the public purposes of higher education.

The students selected for the fellowship are leaders on their campuses who demonstrate a commitment to finding solutions for challenges facing communities locally, nationally, and internationally. The 2020 Newman Civic Fellows national conference will take place in Boston this November.


Rodriguez-Diaz, who is from Broken Bow, is one of 290 students representing Campus Compact member colleges and universities from 39 states, Washington, D.C., Greece, Lebanon, and Mexico, who will make up the organization’s 2020-2021 cohort of Newman Civic Fellows.

She has been active in numerous campus activities as a student senator in the Student Government Association and as a member of the President’s Leadership Class. Among her activities is involvement in issues concerning the importance of the campus food bank.

Rodriguez-Diaz is planning a career as a physician’s assistant.

The fellowship is named for the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders, who was a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education. In the spirit of Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact member presidents and chancellors may nominate one student from their institution for the fellowship.

Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides the students with a variety of learning and networking opportunities that emphasize personal, professional, and civic growth. Each year, Fellows are invited to a national, in-person conference of Newman Civic Fellows and participate in numerous virtual training and networking opportunities. The fellowship also provides fellows with pathways to apply for exclusive scholarship and post-graduate opportunities.