fbpx Skip to content

Task force begins meeting to plan for fall semester at Southeastern

May 15, 2020

DURANT, Okla. – A 15-member task force has been created to make recommendations on how Southeastern Oklahoma State University can safely and responsibly repopulate the campus in anticipation of the Fall 2020 semester.

Among the many sources the task force will be utilizing information from will be the Centers for Disease Control, American College Health Association, Oklahoma State Department of Health, and Oklahoma Commerce.

Among the initial questions the group is charged with analyzing  are:

What are the guidelines used as a basic framework?

How and when do we bring staff and faculty back to campus?

  • What will the work environment look like?
  • What will we need to do and provide to do that safely?

How and when do we bring students back to campus?

Learning Environment

  • Special programs (aviation, athletic campus, counseling internships)

Living/Campus Environment

How and when do we bring the community back to campus?

  • Large groups
  • Community-based events

The task force, appointed by Southeastern president Thomas Newsom, includes University administrators and staff, a student, and community members. Dr. Newsom and Regent Amy Anne Ford of the Regional University System of Oklahoma are ex officio members.

Following are the members of the task force:

Liz McCraw – Vice President for Student Affairs (Chair)

Dr. Teresa Golden – Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Tim Boatmun – Vice President for Enrollment Management

Dennis Westman – Vice President for Business Affairs

Dr. Randy Clark – Faculty Senate President

Keith Baxter – Director of Athletics

Alan Burton – Director of University Communications

John Carey – Chairman of Southeastern Foundation

Alisha Ridenour  – Staff Association President

Ana Antuono – Student Government Association President

April Lehrling – Director of Student Wellness Services

Paula Harp – Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

Chris Kates – Chickasaw Nation

Amy Anne Ford – Community/Regent (Ex Officio)

Dr. Thomas Newsom –President (Ex Officio)