fbpx Skip to content
Six individuals awarded Professor Emeritus status at Southeastern banner

Six individuals awarded Professor Emeritus status at Southeastern

September 13, 2022

Six individuals from Southeastern Oklahoma State University have been awarded the title of Professor Emeritus by the Regional University State of Oklahoma Board of Regents.

Receiving the honorary title are John Brooks Flippen, Ph.D. – Professor of History Emeritus; William Fridley, Ph.D. – Professor of Education Emeritus; Charla Hall, Ph.D. – Professor of Psychology Emeritus; Randy Prus, Ph.D. – Professor of English and Humanities Emeritus; Stanley Rice, Ph.D. – Professor of Biological Sciences Emeritus; and C.W. Von Bergen, Ph.D. – Professor of Management Emeritus.

Dr. Flippen served the University for 27 years, retiring in 2022. He was actively involved with the Curriculum Committee, Human Subjects Research Review Committee, History Program Assessment Coordinator and Faculty Advisor for Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society. Flippen published four books: “Speaker Jim Wright: Power, Scandal, and the Birth of Modern Politics,’’ (University of Texas Press, 2018); “Jimmy Carter, the Politics of Family, and the Rise of the Religious Right,’’ (University of Georgia Press, 2011); “Conservative Conservationist: Russell E. Train and the Emergence of American Environmentalism,’’ (2006); and “Nixon and the Environment,’’ (University of New Mexico Press, 2000).

He earned the Fulbright Scholar Award from the U.S. Department of State for his skills as a teacher and scholar and served as a Senior Lecturer at South China Normal University in Guangzhou.

Flippen earned the respect of his peers with the following Faculty Senate Awards: Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship, Award for Excellence in Service, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Fridley was a member of the Southeastern faculty for 23 years, retiring in 2022.

His classroom teaching and mentoring were assets in establishing the University’s education program as one of the top of its kind in the nation.

On campus, Fridley served in such roles as Chair of the Personnel Policies Committee and Member of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate, Archivist for the Faculty Senate, and offered service  through the American Association of University Professors.

He also represented SE by offering numerous  national, regional, and statewide scholarly presentations.

Dr. Hall served Southeastern through her classroom teaching, academic advising, mentoring and consulting, and has led the way in developing programs and initiatives designed to enhance student health and wellness on campus. She was a member of the Student Health and Wellness Advisory Board, a Savage Storm Friend, a member of the Labyrinth Committee, the COVID On Campus Living Subcommittee, the Higher Learning Commission Ethical and Responsible Conduct Committee, the Faculty Grievance Committee, the NCATE Standard 3 Committee, the Native American Symposium Committee, the Faculty Appellate Hearing Committee, the SOLD Committee, the Graduate Council Committee, the Faculty Senate Committee, and a volunteer for numerous student service activities.

In addition, she held such leadership roles as Community Counseling Program Coordinator, Department of Behavioral Sciences Chair, and Interim Coordinator for the Clinical Mental Health Counseling Program.

Dr. Prus retired from Southeastern in 2022 after 31 years of teaching.

In addition to his teaching, advising and mentoring duties, Prus published four collections of poetry and peer reviewed articles on composition, Frederick Douglass, and American Poetry.

He served as Chair of the Department of English, Humanities, & Languages, Chair of Academic Council, Chair of Institutional Assessment Committee, and Chair of the Bachelor of Science in Liberal and Applied Studies Coordinating Committee,  and served on numerous committees.

­Prus was presented Faculty Senate awards for Excellence in Teaching, Excellence in Service, Excellence in Scholarship, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Rice was a member of the SE faculty for 24 years, retiring in 2022.

His classroom teaching, mentoring and consulting helped the University’s Department of Biological Sciences produce many successful graduates during that time.

Rice brought distinction to Southeastern by his multiple national, and statewide scholarly presentations and publications and successful grantsmanship.  He was recognized for his scholarly activity as a recipient of the Faculty Senate Recognition Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activities.

At SE, he served as serving as coordinator of the Master of Technology and chair of the Sustainability Committee, as well as membership on numerous other committees. At the state level, he held such leadership roles as President of the Oklahoma Academy of Sciences, President of Oklahomans for Excellence in Science Education, and served on numerous statewide committees and board appointments.

Dr. Von Bergen retired in 2022 after 25 years of service to Southeastern.

As a John Massey Endowed Chair (Marketing & Management, he served students by his educational counseling, consulting, mentoring, and outstanding classroom and online instruction at both the graduate and undergraduate levels.

Von Bergen was a leader in academic journal publications, and was a prominent conference presenter, winning many Best Paper awards. He served as a reviewer, discussant, and session chair for numerous professional organizations, earning significant recognition in his discipline. He also mentored many junior faculty in their development as academic scholars.

Von Bergen was active on campus through his work  on numerous committees for the Department of Management and Marketing, the John Massey School of Business, and the University.

­He established and also served as chapter advisor for Beta Gamma Sigma, the honor society for schools accredited by AACSB-International.