fbpx Skip to content

McNair Scholars announced at Southeastern

April 12, 2023

Pictured at the recent McNair reception are, back row,  left to right, Jonathan Ritter, Anna Ritter, Amanda Keeling, Lauren Gibson, Reece Garcia, Kendra St. Clair, Michaela Michalk, and Wren Pettett. Front row,  Cynthia Keeth, Doris Henderson, Shandra Jones, Olivia Carmona, and Juan Montes.

Nineteen students were recently inducted into Southeastern Oklahoma State University’s inaugural class of McNair Scholars.

The University was awarded the Ronald E. McNair Postbaccalaureate Achievement Program grant through U.S. Department of Education in December. Known as the McNair Scholars Program, this is a TRIO program that supports the development of research skills and expected graduate school enrollment of a group of select students.

The Ronald E. McNair Post Baccalaureate Achievement Program was created in his honor by the U.S. Department of Education in 1989. Dr. McNair was one of seven crew members killed in the space shuttle Challenger explosion on January 28, 1986.

Below are the recipients, listed with hometown, major, and classification:

Alani Calahan, Arlington, TX, Health and Human Performance, Junior

Olivia Carmona, Madill, OK, Elementary Education, Junior

Reece Garcia, Coalgate, OK, Pre-Pharmacy, Sophomore

Lauren Gibson, Antlers, OK, Vocal Performance, Senior

Doris Henderson, Ardmore, OK, Psychology, Senior

Shandra Jones, Durant, OK, Biology, Junior

Amanda Keeling, Durant, OK, Criminal Justice, Sophomore

Cynthia Keeth, Depew, OK, Psychology, Sophomore

Michaela Michalk, Wapanucka, OK, Computer Science, Sophomore

Juan Montes, Durant, OK, Pre-Medical, Sophomore

Donald Oakes, Jacksonville, FL, Aviation Management, Junior

Wren Pettett, Atoka, OK, Fisheries and Wildlife Management, Junior

Anna Ritter, Atoka, OK, Pre-Pharmacy, Sophomore

Jonathan Ritter, Atoka, OK, Biology/Chemistry double major, Junior

Bailee Speed, Sherman, TX, Elementary Education, Sophomore

Kendra St. Clair, Durant, OK, Psychology, Junior

Lilly-Anna van Gaal, Idabel, OK, Occupational Safety and Health, Junior

Rebecca Vinson, Marietta, OK, Psychology, Junior

Calia Walker, Durant, OK, Political Science, Junior