fbpx Skip to content
Southeastern to honor eight Distinguished Alumni during September Homecoming banner

Southeastern to honor eight Distinguished Alumni during September Homecoming

June 22, 2023

DURANT, Okla. – Southeastern Oklahoma State University will honor eight Distinguished Alumni during homecoming festivities September 22-23.

This year’s award recipients are as follows:

Distinguished Alumni

— Lt. Governor Chris Anoatubby (’17), currently serving as the Lt. Governor of the Chickasaw Nation of Oklahoma

—  Mr. Wren Baker (’01), Vice President and Director of Athletics at West Virginia University

— Capt. Johnathan Benton (’91) (Posthumously), American Airlines Captain and Government Affairs Chair for the Allied Pilots Association

—  Mr. Billy Jack Bowen (’79), Recently retired high school baseball coach; holds national record for most career victories

—  Mr. Jeff Frye (’88), SE Baseball All American and played professional baseball for Boston, Texas, Colorado and Toronto in the M.L.B.

— Chief Warrant Officer Brady Rudolf (’92) (Posthumously), Pharmacist, Army National Guard CH-47 Chinook helicopter pilot, killed in action during Operation Iraqi Freedom in 2008

—  Dr. James Stewart (’58), Retired Oral Maxillofacial Surgeon and UCLA Faculty Member, Asst. Director of Dentistry for VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System

—  Dr. Anthony Waldroup (‘92), US Air Force Flight Surgeon and current Chief of Aerospace Medicine for the 711th Human Performance Wing – USAF School of Aerospace Medicine

These eight individuals will be honored at the Distinguished Awards Banquet on Friday, Sept. 22, and again the following day during pre-game of the Southeastern-Northwestern football game.

The award is presented by the University and the Southeastern Alumni Association each year at Homecoming.

Individual detailed biographies of each recipient will follow. For the most up-to-date information on homecoming, including a schedule of events, visit https://www.se.edu/alumni/homecoming/.