fbpx Skip to content

SE student van Gaal wins National Safety Council scholarship

November 1, 2023

DURANT, Okla. – Southeastern Oklahoma State University student Lilly-Ana van Gaal, recently attended the National Safety Council’s Safety Congress and Expo in New Orleans, where she was announced as a winner of the Lorraine Pack Memorial Scholarship.

van Gaal is a senior safety major from Idabel, who also recently represented Occupational Safety and Health as a candidate for homecoming royalty. She will graduate with her bachelor’s degree in December and plans to continue her graduate studies at Southeastern. van Gaal has undertaken multiple internships across the country in the safety field.

van Gaal is also a McNair Scholar, who has presented her summer research on The Effect of Training in Language Comprehension for Multilingual Individuals in the Construction Field. van Gaal’s faculty mentors are Dr. Mellena Nichols and Dr. Halet Poovey.

Given by the National Safety Council to female students who are interested in pursuing environmental health and safety or related fields, the Lorraine Pack Memorial Scholarship provides the winner a $2,000 tuition award, and the opportunity to attend either the annual Campbell Institute Symposium or the NSC Safety Congress & Expo at no cost.