fbpx Skip to content

Southeastern hosts second-annual Prospective Teacher Academy

April 5, 2023

Rebekah Peterson, 2022 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year, gives the keynote address in the Hallie McKinney Ballroom.

More than 70 people attended the second-annual “Prospective Teacher Academy” at Southeastern Oklahoma State University on Wednesday hosted by Southeastern’s Department of Educational Instruction & Leadership.

The event is designed for high school juniors and seniors interested in the teaching field, as well as current teachers and administrators.

Five former Oklahoma Teachers of the Year – including Jon Hazell of Durant – spoke and were also part of the panel discussion. The keynote speaker was Rebekah Peterson, the 2022 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year.

Oklahoma Teacher of the Year recipients Donna Gradel (2018), Steven Smallwood (1996), Rebekah Peterson (2022) and Jon Hazell (2017) lead a panel discussion.

Southeastern’s McCurtain County Campus hosted a “Prospective Teacher Academy” for the first time on their campus on March 29.

Dr. Stewart Mayers is the chair of the Department of Educational Instruction & Leadership at Southeastern. For more information about the department including degree programs, visit www.se.edu/eil/.